GPU for 2nd PC

Hey guys, I am going to get a new GPU for my G3258 build. I will rarely use this computer and I am thinking about pushing some heavy overclocks on these parts (at least whatever the H81m board will do before exploding.) I have a 650w Cooler Master PSU. I was looking to get either an EVGA GTX 970 or an R9 390 Strix. My problem is that AMD cards can't oc too well and I don't want this PSU to explode. The 390 performs a lot better than the GTX 970 for the price. What should I do? They cost the same.

neither will blow your PSU, and the difference is minute in all but FC4 it seems. though given those specific cards, I'd take the 970

Aftermarket 980Ti >= Fury X >= Reference 980Ti > Fury > 980 > 390X > 390 >= 970 380X > 380 >= 960 > 950 >= 370 > 750Ti = 360

"The Orange Box" || CPU: i5 4690k || RAM: Kingston Hyper X Fury 16GB || Case: Aerocool DS200 (Orange) || Cooler: Cryorig R1 Ultimate || Storage: Kingston SSDNow V300 240GB + WD Black 1TB || PSU: Corsair RM750 || Mobo: ASUS Z97-A || GPU: EVGA GTX 970 FTW+

"Unnamed Form Factor Switch" || CPU: i7 6700K || RAM: Kingston HyperX Fury 16GB || Case: Phanteks Enthoo Evolv Mini ITX (White) || Cooler: Cryorig R1 Ultimate (Green Cover) || Storage: Samsung 850 Evo 1TB || PSU: XFX XTR 550W || Mobo: ASUS Z170I Pro Gaming || GPU: EVGA GTX 970 FTW+

I was on the same dilemma but with a 4770k and I decided to go with the 390.

I'm a pretty die hard team green fan, but I think it comes down to driver support, TDP, and noise. Since team green is cooler, fans don't have to be as active, therefore noise is down, but I guess the question (as always) boils down to what you want out of the computer.

Also, I didn't think h81m chipsets could overclock?

ASU

Get a 290x if you want oc. G1 for the 970.

i5 2400 | ASUS RTX 4090 TUF OC | Seasonic 1200W Prime Gold | WD Green 120gb | WD Blue 1tb | some ram | a random case

Probably going to buy new.