New Build for Video Editing Workstation

Hi all,

I am new to Linus Tech Tips and a person who has been running on Macs for the last 5 years. I have decided I am finally through with Apple and am in need of building a PC for one purpose: video editing. I use the Adobe Creative Cloud suite for all my work, notable Premiere Pro. I use also Da Vinci resolve and I am just beginning to learn Avid Media Composer.

I need a complete build, which means I need peripherals also. I prefer to work with 2 monitors, but if that's the case, I don't need huge displays of 27" and over.

My goal here is to build something that will be able to handle all my rendering and editing and that is also future-proof. I figure the best way to future-proof my machine is to build something that works smoothly now, but is also highly up-gradable when the need arises.

I've seen the video of the editing rig build from Nov. 2013

and it all sounds nice to me, but since it's a bit old, I'm wondering what you guys suggest I should get myself now.

I live in Canada and I'd like to stay within a $2,500 budget for the entire workstation.

I also don't know how to set up a RAID Array and I'm wondering if that is recommended with this kind of machine. I figure I'll have to use an SSD for my boot drive with my most heavy applications on it with maybe another SSD for my Scratch Disks (only if that'll significantly improve performance though).

At the moment, I need something like 5Tb of storage on the machine (I do have a lot of external media lying around) I believe, with possibility to increase later down the line.

Suggestions on a build?

Thanks guys!

PS: I haven't touched a PC in a while, but my room-mate and my brother are gamers with custom-built rigs of their own, so don't worry about the building process: I'm in good hands over here ;)

http://pcpartpicker.com/user/mikat/saved/#view=GhB9TW