Budget gaming build for a friend

Hello!

This is my first time posting on the forums, so please forgive/correct any formatting or post placement errors.

I'm helping a friend of mine build a computer over the summer, he wants to use it both for schoolwork (we're in college) and for gaming.  He usually has a multitude of programs and tabs open for productivity on two monitors.  Given a budget of $1200, I wanted to keep the actual tower itself under $1000 to leave room for an operating system and keyboard as he already has a monitor and mouse.

Here's the link to the parts list:

http://pcpartpicker.com/p/VkKdwP

I was considering putting in a 970 instead of a 960, but I'm not sure if it's worth the price jump given the budget.  1TB should be more than enough storage for him given that he's only used 100GB on his laptop as of this moment and I believe 128GB should be a large enough SSD for the boot drive with extra space for a few games or core programs.  My concerns lay with the case and partially with the motherboard.  He's not concerned with aesthetics so I tried to find a case that focused on functionality, but would still look nice.  From everything that I can tell, the motherboard should be just fine for his needs but I don't claim to be an expert on motherboards.  Given how many programs he likes to have open at once, we may add another 8GB sometime in the future if 8GB isn't enough but for now we'll stick with 8GB.

Any suggestions/critiques would be greatly appreciated!

CPU: Intel Xeon E3-1231 V3 3.4GHz Quad-Core Processor  ($242.95 @ SuperBiiz) 

Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-H81M-DS2V Micro ATX LGA1150 Motherboard  ($51.98 @ Newegg) 

Storage: OCZ ARC 100 240GB 2.5" Solid State Drive  ($89.99 @ Amazon) 

Video Card: MSI GeForce GTX 970 4GB Twin Frozr V Video Card  ($333.98 @ Newegg) 

Case: Corsair 200R ATX Mid Tower Case  ($49.99 @ Amazon) 

Power Supply: EVGA 600B 600W 80+ Bronze Certified ATX Power Supply  ($34.99 @ NCIX US) 

Total: $859.87