i7 4820K overclocking

Hey Guys.

I was hoping I could ask for some feedback on overclocking.  I'm a beginner at overclocking and wanted to try my hand at overclocking my new i7 4820K processor.  So far, I managed to get my processor up to 4.6GHz with a voltage or 1.295 volts.  What is usually the best clock speed (sweet spot) for a processor like this one?  Also, is my current voltage setting considered safe for my CPU?  I usually like to err on the side of caution when it comes to overclocking because of the risk of frying it.  What do you guys think?  Will these settings be good for a long term stable overclock?  Thank you all for your input.

System Specs:

ASUS Rampage IV Extreme

Intel i7 4820K Processor

16 GB Corsair Dominator Platinum Memory

EVGA GTX 970 FTW Edition GPU

Corsair HX850 PSU

Would not push it above 1.4 Volts...

Core i7 4820K  |  NH-D14 | Rampage IV Extreme | Asus R9 280X DC2T | 8GB G.Skill TridentX | 120GB Samsung 840 | NZXT H440  |  Be quiet! Dark Power Pro 10 650W

Interesting setup. Quad-core "enthusiast" chip with a high-end board and expensive memory, you should have spent more money on the processor and less on the board, but anyway.  To answer your question, 4.6GHz is considered a very good overclock on these processors and your voltage is fine too. Anything under 1.35V is going to be good for a 24/7 overclock. 1.4V might be as well, but it becomes very CPU cooler dependent. I used to have an i7 3820, which is nearly the same processor as yours and I had it overclocked to 4.8GHz with 1.4V, but I was maxing out the capabilities of my H110 and that is one of the best AIO coolers you can get. This means that if you go above 1.35V to 1.4V you should pay close attention to your CPU temps and don't let them exceed 85C when stress-testing.