Squeezing life from awful laptop: SSD?

Hello everyone, long time lurker first time poster here!  :)

I didn't know where to post my question, hope this is the right place.

Anyway:

I own a 2009ish Sony Vaio VPCEB1J8E and it's slow as hell. Since I'm a student, I absolutely have to keep it as alive and functional until I graduate. TWO long years.
So I thought about getting an SSD for the OS, MS Office and very important programs and buying a caddy to replace my optical drive for the HDD.

I don't know if I can post links to a store, I'm putting it under spoiler

http://www.buy-deals.co.uk/sony-vaio-vpceb1j8e-2nd-hdd-hard-drive-caddy.htm

Some questions for you:
- What do you think about it? This way I could always re-use the SSD when I'll finally build a decent system.
- Have you got any suggestion for the SSD? It should be a decent, budget-friendly one  :mellow: Which size do you suggest? I thought about 60Gb.

My budget is around 60-70€ (20 are for the caddy).

Keep in mind that I'm from Italy and Pcpartpicker Italia only checks amazon.it so it's not very useful for me. Just use the equation 1$=1€ because prices here are higher.

Thanks in advance, I'm sorry if I made any language mistakes.

Grazie mille!  :wub:

-Snip-

that 60 should be fine if you plan on putting some big programs on hdd.

do that math, how much space are your windows+programs+programs x86 taking up and add about 30-50gbs breathe room ex sytsm restoee future files.

Yes, a SSD will speed it up. A RAM upgrade will also help.

I would suggest a 128GB. 64GB is just not enough at all.

ADATA SP900 or SP600 are great budget SSDs. 

5800X3D - RTX 4070 - 2K @ 165Hz

I thought about RAM too, but prices are too high!

Any suggestions for the brand?

I thought about RAM too, but prices are too high!

Any suggestions for the brand?

ADATA SP600 128GB. Can be found from $50-$60. 

ADATA SP900 or SP600 are great budget SSDs.