How to Actually Get Into Programming?

Howdy y'all,

I'm a 22 year old sysadmin trying to get into programming. On a day-to-day basis I have to automate tasks through a script editor that is integrated to our RMM software.

I'm not sure what the language is (probably an overlay of Ruby) but I understand the core premise of scripting languages at least - for my needs, it's all sequential and relies on nested if statements. So for example, I start a script like this:

Here's a very basic example of a type of script that I make:

If: 'C:\Program\File1' exists

Then:

1. Download Zip1.zip

2. Download Unzip.exe

3. Unzip.exe Zip1.zip

4. Run File2.msi /q

5. Gpupdate.exe /force

Else:

1. Download File1

2. Download Zip1.zip

3. Download Unzip.exe

4. Unzip.exe Zip1.zip

5. Run File2.msi /q

6. Gpupdate.exe /force

My question is this: how do you get into actual programming? I'm interested in learning how to program to better understand why what I do on a command line makes sense. Long-term goals would be learning SQL due to necessary administration of SQL applications - but other than that I can't figure out which language to try to learn/how to learn it/why learn that language over any other.

I've logged 2 hours on CodeAcademy with Python (chose that since it's the code behind Dropbox, and it seemed cool) but I was unable to see the bigger picture - I can't see where my code transforms from line of commands to an actual executable.

What would you guys recommend? Thanks for reading, and any input would be appreciated!

I started out with this guy Brackeys, really easy to follow and high quality stuff.
Heres his first tutorial video:

Enjoy!

Pick a language and learn its syntax. C# is good, Java is also good. Both are very similar in syntax. They also both support SQL databases so you could work on learning SQL at the same time