New router help, please.

johnnyTheMac

Hello,

I am in the market for a new router. Right now, I have an ISP router/modem combo. It is just okay and it is only a single band router. I am looking for a dual band router that will work well with streaming PC games to my tablet.My house is fully wired, but I will need really good wireless for times that I am not. I am relatively new to network hardware, so any help is greatly appreciated.

Oh, I don't really have a budget and I don't really know what a good and reliable router will cost...I am guessingaround or under $200?

Thank you in advance for any and all help!

CPU: Intel i7 3770K | Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UDH4 | RAM: 8 GB Blue Ares | GPU: Gigabyte Windforce 780 GHz Edition | Case: Corsair C70 Vengeance Arctic White | Storage: 250 GB SSD Corsair Neutron - 128 GB SSD Kingston - 1 TB WD Black | PSU: Corsair 850 watt | Display: 3 x Dell S2340M 23-Inch IPS 

Netgear R7000

Thank you. That is the one that I first came across in my search. Is this considered "the best" in its price range? Do I need a certain type of wifi on my device (Surface Pro 3 or Android device w/KitKat/Lollipop)?

CPU: Intel i7 3770K | Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UDH4 | RAM: 8 GB Blue Ares | GPU: Gigabyte Windforce 780 GHz Edition | Case: Corsair C70 Vengeance Arctic White | Storage: 250 GB SSD Corsair Neutron - 128 GB SSD Kingston - 1 TB WD Black | PSU: Corsair 850 watt | Display: 3 x Dell S2340M 23-Inch IPS 

Thank you. That is the one that I first came across in my search. Is this considered "the best" in its price range? Do I need a certain type of wifi on my device (Surface Pro 3 or Android device w/KitKat/Lollipop)?

Yep it's pretty much the best router you can get for the money. I upgraded to it a few months ago and I definitely love the extra speed and range. You don't need a certain type of WiFi on your device, as it's an AC router but is backwards compatible with G and N devices.

"Rawr XD"