Upgrading Graphics Cards

aleksandr

G'day Everyone,

First of all, I've never done any computer modification before.

My current computer, which is just over 2 years old, has been struggling a fair bit recently (and always really), playing certain games is almost impossible due the frame rate, and I believe this mainly comes down to the Radeon HD 6450 that came with this pre-built Dell Inspiron 620MT computer (Details here: http://www.engadget.com/products/dell/inspiron/620/specs/ , its the MT Version for the most part, small differences include i5-2320 CPU @3GHz, 8GB RAM, 1TB HDD. Motherboard Details here as well: http://www.findlaptopdriver.com/dell-inspiron-620-specs/ )

I'm just trying to work out what my angle of attack should be from here. I want to upgrade, but I am concerned mostly about these 4 things:

- Will a new GPU be bottlenecked by the computer

- Will it meet a fairly strict budget of around $400 (whilst avoiding spending that much anyway)

- How should I go about buying a new Power Supply (which I will almost certainly need to do given it comes with a 300W one)

- Will the new GPU fit, I was looking at a GTX 970, only to find that it would be pushing against the edges of the case in terms of size (almost certainly TOO big to fit)

So the ultimate question is, what's the most effective thing for me to do from here, avoiding buying a whole new computer, just upgrading in order to get much better performance, whether its a smaller graphics card not quite as new and big as the GTX 970, or whatever.

I have photos of the inside if you guys need.

And thanks so much in advance for your help guys,

Alex

forget the 970 it would be a waste with that cpu. get a gtx 750 ti (it wont need a new psu theres a version that doesnt even need external power) and upgrade to 8gb of ram.

You could still upgrade the psu anyway maybe wtith one of those cheap evga 500 or 600w ones.

I wouldnt recommend a gpu thats over 200usd tho...