I looking for advice from people who have built a high-end system, and/or a mid-low end system.

I'm starting uni in about 2 weeks and my aged 2006 macbook, that i got when i was in my early teens and didn't know how to build yet, wont cut it anymore. I have over the last years learnt all that i should on computer hardware and now have a strong intrest into doing it for the first time. I have a question though that i cant yet answer.

If i build a high end machine will i feel like that extra money will have been wasted and i should have built a mid-low end, or vice versa?

For more context: I have the funds to go ahead with a £2000 ish build (i consider that highend). I have no hardware now that i can reuse. I've never built before (confident i can easily do it though). Some of this money will have to go on peripherals and a desk and chair.

The short of it is this. I go for a nice build and live on a budget for a year or two, OR go for a lower end build and live more comfortably. (i undertand this is all a matter of perspective though)

Has anyone here built a high end build and regret it? Or has anyone held back but wish they didnt?

I dont think I have any. Im the kind of person who spends months deciding on what exactly I want. If you plan your build right you wont have any regrets.

My build was my first, I did it last year and I ended up getting high quality, mid ranged parts. Thats how id describe them anyway. I use 4GB dims for RAM, I have mATX board, a 560Ti and a HX650. So none of these parts are really that expensive and they werent the latest and greatest. But they fell into my budget range and did the job.

Only now am I seeing games saying the recommended video card is a 560Ti and thats ARMA3, which isnt even in Beta yet.