Won't turbo boost?

YodaSoda33

Hey guys! I just built a new PC using the core i7 4790K. My motherboard is the msi h97m-g43, so im using the click bios 4. I'm trying to enable the turbo boost but for some reason when I disable/enable the turbo boost the cpu stays at 4.00ghz. I'm new to the whole bios thing, so frankly i don't really know what im doing wrong. Do i need to install windows before adjusting the turbo boost or am i doing it completely wrong.

This is what im experiencing:

1. I turn on the PC

2. I press [delete] to open the bios

3. I go to the overclocking settings

4. I enable Turbo boost

5. Then i look at the top right of the bios (where it shows current Cpu frequency) and it hasn't changed...

I also can't change the CPU ratio,Ring ratio or the GT ratio...

This is the first time I have ever turbo boosted a proccesor so some help would be greatly appreciated! thanks

It only goes to the turbo boost frequency when it actually needs to. If it does not then it will not go to said turbo frequency otherwise it is just wasting power.

RIG: I7-4790k @ 4.5GHz | MSI Z97S SLI Plus | 12GB Geil Dragon RAM 1333MHz | Gigabyte G1 Gaming GTX 970 (1550MHz core/7800MHz memory) @ +18mV(Maxed out at 1650/7800 so far) | Corsair RM750 | Samsung 840 EVO 120GB, 1TB Seagate Barracuda | Fractal Design Arc Midi R2 (Closed) | Sound Blaster Z                                                                                                                        Getting: Noctua NH-D15 | Possible 250GB Samsung 850 Evo                                                                                        Need a console killer that actually shits on every console? Here you go (No MIR/Promo)

This is why you should not get an FX CPU for ANY scenario other than rendering on a budget http://linustechtips.com/main/topic/286142-fx-8350-r9-290-psu-requirements/?p=3892901 http://linustechtips.com/main/topic/266481-an-issue-with-people-bashing-the-fx-cpus/?p=3620861