New NAS

I have an HTPC that I'm thinking of turning into a NAS, and have a few questions about the difficulty of it. 

I read the info in the "remote access NAS" here, and it looks fairly straightforward. I've got no NAS experience, and only a little bit of Linux/command line (getting better). -For remote access: I've got Xfinity (changing to Verizon at the end of this contract) and their interface is pretty barebones and locked down from what I can tell.

-Am I gonna run into some major hurdles when I want to implement it?

-I don't need intense security on it, and the data stored on it is going to have a cloud backup for the irreplaceable stuff

Can I even get a somewhat usable experience out of these specs:

I5-6500

2x12tb refurb HDD in RAID1

Gigabit Ethernet controller

16gb 2133 RAM

Quadro p600 for media transcoding (optional, already in machine)

180W platinum PSU

Internet: 400/15 (will switch to Verizon 200/200)

Thinking of using TrueNAS core

35 minutes ago, BiotechBen said:

I have an HTPC that I'm thinking of turning into a NAS, and have a few questions about the difficulty of it. 

I read the info in the "remote access NAS" here, and it looks fairly straightforward. I've got no NAS experience, and only a little bit of Linux/command line (getting better). -For remote access: I've got Xfinity (changing to Verizon at the end of this contract) and their interface is pretty barebones and locked down from what I can tell.

-Am I gonna run into some major hurdles when I want to implement it?

-I don't need intense security on it, and the data stored on it is going to have a cloud backup for the irreplaceable stuff

Can I even get a somewhat usable experience out of these specs:

I5-6500

2x12tb refurb HDD in RAID1

Gigabit Ethernet controller

16gb 2133 RAM

Quadro p600 for media transcoding (optional, already in machine)

180W platinum PSU

Internet: 400/15 (will switch to Verizon 200/200)

Thinking of using TrueNAS core

That can run as a nas well.