Proxmox on Dell PowerEdge R430 error

Go to solution Solved by Needfuldoer,
Just now, otacon19 said:

I have it set on BIOS mode. I would have to reset the BIOS if I used UEFI because it would give a black screen and it would not let me press the function keys to access the BIOS. I can't tell of this is a video issue or not because I don't have a GPU installed, I'm just using VGA.

It should output video over VGA in UEFI mode, as long as you don’t have another video card installed. 

Do you have iDRAC set up? You should be able to change just about all those settings from the web UI. 

I'm trying to install proxmox on my R430 server but I keep getting this error. I'm new to this, I don't understand what I'm doing wrong. I always end up getting a black screen when try to install. I even tried the console installer but that doesn't work either. BIOS is updated. please help. Thanks.

IMG_0929.thumb.JPG.1bcc482e7101d2bdd09f78bf820042bb.JPG

I believe its trying populate devs but its getting stuck or failing.

Seems disk issue, try formatting disks first.

Or there other device which cannot be loaded or its stuck for some reason.

I'm jank tinkerer if it works then it works.

Regardless of compatibility 🐧🖖

Are you running in Legacy mode, or UEFI mode?

I sold my soul for ProSupport.

Just now, BoomerDutch said:

I believe its trying populate devs but its getting stuck or failing.

Seems disk issue, try formatting disks first.

I only have one 1tb disk and its set to raid 0.

1 minute ago, otacon19 said:

I only have one 1tb disk and its set to raid 0.

ZFS likes having direct access to the drives. 

You should be able to set the PERC card to IT or HBA mode, so it doesn’t do any RAID on its own. 

Just now, Needfuldoer said: