Help with Netgear Nighthawk throttling speed.

PopsicleHustler

Hi all

So I (or my rather my father) came across this problem.

He bought this fancy Netgear Nighthawk router for whatever reason...

Anyway, he is on n 1Gbit internet (Virgin Media, Ireland) and this router throttles their connection like crazy.

I have no experience with such routers, but he asked me to come and try looking at it since my dad also has no idea what to do.

They have 3 PCs connected to with cable + phones and tablets on wifi. With their old router they had normal 100+MB/s down speed. Now with this new one they have less than 20MB/s download AND it throttles the connection so much, nobody can play or watch anything if 1 person is streaming 4k or downloading something at mere 15-20MB/s.

Any ideas/suggestions/tips as to what I should be looking for? Tomorrow I'm going to his house to see what is going on, so might post screenshots of settings. But would be nice to have some heads-up on what I should be looking for. 

Main system: Ryzen 7 7800X3D / Asus ROG Strix B650E / G.Skill Trident Z5 NEO 32GB 6000Mhz / Powercolor RX 7900 XTX Red Devil/ EVGA 750W GQ / NZXT H5 Flow

30 minutes ago, PopsicleHustler said:

He bought this fancy Netgear Nighthawk router for whatever reason...

Netgear has many routers named "Nighthawk".  Does the machine that "takes over the connection" get the full speed, and is able to keep the speed?

Before my switch to pfsense I always had to modify my routers and cable modems as they would throttle during extended downloads as they would get warm. A cooling fan would prevent this and ensure my speeds were consistent all the time. If you speeds are fast and then slow down, it could be a cooling issue.