(energy efficient) NAS build in 2022

Go to solution Solved by Timotheus2,

Hey all!

First time posting, long time fan! 😉

Given that power tarrifs in Europe in late 2022 is through the roof, almost double what it was earlier in the year.  I'd love to discuss best (cheapest) options for NAS builds.   

So back story, I'm a photographer, videographer, while for some, it may seem little, for me, it's a lot of data I keep archived. 

I have 2 NAS:

1) a Synology 4 bay DS413j, that happily sips on the power (31W), but is limited to 12TB. I use this for work archive. 

2) I turned my old workstation into another NAS (mostly for Plex) but also some archival storage:

• Mobo: ASrock P67 Pro3
  • CPU: i7 3770
  • RAM: 4 x 8GB 
  • HDD - 3x - Seagate 3TB IronWolf - 7200rpm (left over from upgrading the Synology). 
  • SSD - Sandisk 240GB 
  • GPU - PNY Nvidia NVS 300 512MB - very cheap on ebay, draws 18W
  • PSU - OCZ 650W 

After jumping into a PSU calculator I can see my old workstation TDP is 252W  (not sure what idle draw is).  But anything over 50W seems a bit criminal. 

I'm keenly interested in economy, and thus I have my units running schedules.

So my quesiton: 

What options to further economize the running cost of my NAS setups do you guys recommend?

From looking at my DIY build calculation, an easy power fix would be to tweak the BIOS for the CPU, take half the ram out, and replace HDDs.

I've jumped down various rabit holes of looking into mITX motherboards with SoC and then looked at getting into Pi.  But all these options have compromises such as: transcoding, needing further HBA expansion cards, or simply that the economic pay-off doesn't equal the investment in the near foreseeable future. Then again buying another used Synology could be just as cheap as a DIY build.

Can anyone shed some light on what options to drive down?

15 minutes ago, NeilOfThings said:

Hey all!

First time posting, long time fan! 😉