Possible scam?

Trying to buy a 3090 on kijiji (canadian ebay) and asked them to send photos. After a while I get sent these:

image.thumb.jpeg.e56e24e4e449dabf4127b3e2b4ead25f.jpeg

image.thumb.jpeg.1157e37952ac6699866e2632154487d1.jpeg 

This is for an HP omen 3090 that was pulled from a prebuilt... I compared it to video footage and it seemed correct. Even the (what I thought was) scratching on the memory was similar to the residue left by the thermal pads in various videos.

So it seemed fine, originally, but looking on the back there seems to be some issues. On the left and right it's a bit too shiny, and I'm no GPU expert but it seems to be water damage or flux or something? I was wondering if you guys knew what it was, and knew if this was a damaged card.

Update: They replied saying that it was "oil" from the thermal pads. Unsure if that is true...

It could be a very oily thermal pad, it doesn't look super out of the ordinary. It's more than I'd expect but it doesn't look like it should prevent the card from working

That said, I'd avoid HP cards. They are known for putting the worst VRMs on a GPU you can find and thus they power throttle like crazy. It's worth the extra $50-100 to get a card from an actual AIB rather than this card. 

+1 on RONOTHAN -- After my experience with a prebuilt, I would never buy another, nor touch components that came from one.

I don't badmouth others' input, I'd appreciate others not badmouthing mine. *** More below ***

MODERATE TO SEVERE AUTISTIC, COMPLICATED WITH COVID FOG

Due to the above, I've likely revised posts <30 min old, and do not think as you do.

THINK BEFORE YOU REPLY!

1 hour ago, RONOTHAN## said:

It could be a very oily thermal pad, it doesn't look super out of the ordinary. It's more than I'd expect but it doesn't look like it should prevent the card from working