4k PC gaming on a budget, is it possible?

I'm a film student at my school and recently got a monitor for 4k mastering. -& the gamer in me is currently wondering if 4k gaming is a thing thats possible on a budget. Does anybody have any gpu suggestions right now or should I wait a while for the new Intel cards to come? Thanks!  Edit: I have a $500 budget for the card.

Regarding a System/GPUS that depends on what your total budget is.

╔═════════════╦═══════════════════════════════════════════╗
║__________________║ hardware_____________________________________________________ ║
╠═════════════╬═══════════════════════════════════════════╣
║ cpu ______________║ ryzen 9 5900x_________________________________________________ ║
║ GPU______________║ ASUS strix LC RX6800xt______________________________________ _║
║ motherboard_______ ║ asus crosshair formulla VIII______________________________________║
║ memory___________║ CMW32GX4M2Z3600C18 ______________________________________║
║ SSD______________║ Samsung 980 PRO 1TB_________________________________________ ║
║ PSU______________║ Corsair RM850x 850W _______________________ __________________║
║ CPU cooler _______ ║ Be Quiet be quiet! PURE LOOP 360mm ____________________________║
║ Case_____________ ║ Thermaltake Core X71 __________________________________________║
║ HDD_____________ ║ 2TB and 6TB HDD ____________________________________________║
║ Front IO__________   ║ LG blu-ray drive & 3.5" card reader, [trough a 5.25 to 3.5 bay]__________║
║ OS_______________ ║ Windows 10 PRO______________________________________________║
╚═════════════╩═══════════════════════════════════════════╝

27 minutes ago, MoonMaroon said:

I'm a film student at my school and recently got a monitor for 4k mastering. -& the gamer in me is currently wondering if 4k gaming is a thing thats possible on a budget. Does anybody have any gpu suggestions right now or should I wait a while for the new Intel cards to come? Thanks!