[General Info Thread] Hackintosh

(Note: I asked on Twitter beforehand if this subject was allowed, and it was accepted by Linus, so I am posting it here.)

So, you have played with Windows, and you started playing with Linux.... You'd like to try Apple computers, but can't justify paying thousands of dollars just to test a new system. I might have the solution for you.

First, this will only work on Intel-based systems, preferably Core series CPUs (Core2 and Core i series). There are ways of making it work on other CPU architectures, but they require additional steps. As I have no experience in that, I will not explain it.

So the first thing you need is a copy of MacOSX. I won't start explaining where it is acceptable to get it from, if you are here you probably already know about how to legally get software.

Some people might ask about OSX distros, which are essentially all prepared copies of OSX to install on ordinary PCs with several utilities. That is up to you, although most forums will frown on distros.

A good guide to building your own OSX disk can be found here: http://lifehacker.com/5841604/the-always-up+to+date-guide-to-building-a-hackintosh

As the guide notes, you need to have rather... popular hardware items to be able to make your hackintosh work. If possible, the item has to be > 6 months old. For example, ATi's 7990s just came out. It probably won't work. Also, Crossfire/SLI setups do not work (Some might but they require some serious editing).

On-board sound cards work, but you really have to search extensively for the proper driver (or also called 'kext').

So basically, if you have any questions on getting this running, feel free to ask! I'll post some screenshots after I'm done with this thread.

Well darn, just reinstalled the OS not long ago and made the mistake of creating a case sensitive partition. That was a mistake! XD Nothing wants to install! XD

I'll fix that, and send some screenshots.