Questions for engineers

loadironmania

So I'm studying for the entrance exams for engineering colleges (JEE Mains/Advanced ,India) and i have some questions for some actual engineers.

• why are you an engineer?
  • what do you do day to day?
  • Do you think it was worth it?
  • what type of engineer are you ? (aeronautical,software,civil etc)
  • what is the scope (i.e job oppertunities) ?
  • any suggestions for an aspiring engineer?

Thank you 🙂 .

pretty simple,

1. I liked the idea to focus my life around my hobbies of crafting and building cool systems
  2. wake up at 10 - maintain stuff,  check monitoring, do some meetings on future systems, do some support, shift ends at 18, do some hobby stuff in the garage
  3. absolutely
  4. part Systems Administrator and part systems engineer
  5. what do you mean by scope ? how large the field is ? if so, then theres always new stuff to play with, and one of the most if not the most active community in the world
  6. do some field study e.g like go to a place of buissness and ask for a 1 day job presentation to get a view of what the job is actually about. Since reality can be somewhat different from whats written in the text book
    1. And my most important advice would be: Dont just focus on college the entire time youre studying, try to work part time as a working student in that particular field of study.

1. Yes

2.I worked in automotive industries so a lot of meetings and planing, now i work in R&D, so a lot of meetings and planing, some 3D 2D designing also system management.

3. Nope. I hate it and plan to switch for some of my hobbies (i have a small shop, so i also work with metal, welding, making stuff etc)

4. Mechanical (production) engineer, but mostly work project management for the past couple of years.

5. Also clarify scope. If you mean complexity of work that depends 

6. RUN 😄 

• Aptitude.  I'm good at it, the money's good, and I'm treated very well by my employers because of my skillset