10Gbit PCI-E network card recommendations

Chris Hasinski
Go to solution Solved by Oshino Shinobu,
2 minutes ago, Chris Hasinski said:

I've seen them online, they look decent, however I'm worried if they can do full 10Gbit because they are PCIe v2.1 (which at x8 is 5.0 GT/s). Do you have any experience with them?

PCIe 2.1 x8 provides 4GB/s of bandwidth, which is 32Gb/s, plenty of bandwidth. 5.0 GT/s is the transfer rate of PCIe 2.0/2.1, not the bandwidth of an 8 lane 2.1 connection.聽

image.png.13e73b5f8003a3f344e8bc8cba414c48.png

I have no personal experience with them. I personally use the XG-C100C as you do, but I haven't had any issues with them. The X540 is well regarded among the home server forums and subreddits.

Hello 馃檪

I have a nice 10Gbit (both upload and download) connection at my home office and three workstations using it. One is MacMini, but two others are regular PCs.

Currently I use Asus XG-C100C cards in both of them, but:
- they often randomly drop the connection for a couple seconds
- they often won't work after a restart until I unplug and plug in back again the network cable

- Asus has no driver or firmware updates for them that could fix those issues

I have CAT6 cables in walls, about 10 meters to the switch, so it should work (and it works with my MacMini).聽

I'm looking for something else, could be SPF+ with a transceiver or 10Gbit BASE-T. Must have drivers for Linux (current version of Ubuntu), nice to have drivers for Win10 (which I only use for gaming so it's less of a priority, but hey, it would be awesome to just have one ethernet cable running to that box).

You can normally pick up Intel X540 either T1 or T2 models for a reasonable price on eBay. In terms of driver support across systems, Intel tends to be one of the best.

5 minutes ago, Oshino Shinobu said:

You can normally pick up Intel X540 either T1 or T2 models for a reasonable price on eBay. In terms of driver support across systems, Intel tends to be one of the best.