CPU Choice for Linux (VM)

Pikatchu

I am starting to use VM for both windows and linux (one at a time) for learning how VM works in general. (Using virtualbox)

Which brand of CPU should I go for? I remember reading about it and Intel seems to be favorited against AMD when it comes to virtualization. Did this change with Zen3?

I understand Nvidia GPU will have some problem with driver in Linux, so one thing I personally have against going AMD CPU is no integrated GPU.

Are there anything else I should look out for? I am a Linux newbie and would like to have the least amount of trouble to begin with.

P.S. The virtual machine will be ran as long as physical PC is on, so it needs to share resources with the main PC 24/7.

Full time technology enthusiast, part time IT.

4 minutes ago, Pikatchu said:

I am starting to use VM for both windows and linux (one at a time) for learning how VM works in general. (Using virtualbox)

Which brand of CPU should I go for? I remember reading about it and Intel seems to be favorited against AMD when it comes to virtualization. Did this change with Zen3?

I understand Nvidia GPU will have some problem with driver in Linux, so one thing I personally have against going AMD CPU is no integrated GPU.

Are there anything else I should look out for? I am a Linux newbie and would like to have the least amount of trouble to begin with.

P.S. The virtual machine will be ran as long as physical PC is on, so it needs to share resources with the main PC 24/7.

budget?

I can't say there's an overwhelming reason to go either direction.

From my experience on Threadripper AMD-V works just as well as Intel's VT-x at least when it comes to using QEMU/KVM as a virtualizer with hardware pass-through.

I guess I'd go with whichever brand suits your other needs better.

3 minutes ago, curiousmind34 said:

budget?

Around $500 for just the CPU

3 hours ago, Windows7ge said:

I can't say there's an overwhelming reason to go either direction.