Thermal paste

yobi_juan

Hi I'm quite new to pc building and I've used this pc for like a 8 months and I used a new CPU which is the Ryzen 5 3600X and I've been using it for like maybe 3 months. For the first week I put the fan and the CPU in and the first week I used it my CPU was actually really hot it ranged from 60-80c and after that I took it out and put it back it and I think it was normal after that and now I checked the temperature for my CPU and it was 70-90c now and idk what to do cause I tried taking it out and putting back in and it still was hot as hell. I took this today checking if there was dust in my fan or pc which there wasn't at all and I took the fan out and checked whether or not the thermal paste is bad or not which I don't know if the thermal paste is bad or not please help me because I'm so confused right now 

20201205_151327.jpg

The thermal paste looks fine. If you're using the stock cooler that came with it then those temperatures are fine, it's just not that great but it's fine. If you want it cooler or quieter you could upgrade to a new cooler.

i9-11900K @ 5.1ghz;   RTX 3090 FE @ 2ghz;   ROG Maximus XII Hero;   4266mhz G.Skill 16GB DDR4;

Yeah the stock cooler isn't that great, it's ok but not fantastic, no.

I get 70-75° max on my 3600x depending on ambient during load on all threads with the Be Quiet! DR4 and a case with restricted airflow.

My friends told me to replace the thermal paste and get a new cooler. Im also getting a new case which is the phantek ecplise p300a currently im using a mini tower with bad airflow do you think that the new thermal paste and new cooler and the new case can help the my cpu temp go down?

Could high temperatures damage the cpu? 

10 hours ago, yobi_juan said:

I checked the temperature for my CPU and it was 70-90c now and idk what to do cause I tried taking it out and putting back in and it still was hot as hell.

Those temps are perfectly normal for the stock cooler.