PC Randomly Shutting Down

Mr Sparkle
Go to solution Solved by Mr Sparkle,

I am still waiting for the Cooler Master replacement, so I went ahead and bought a new Corsair RM650 in the meantime. Connected it all up yesterday and haven't had a single issue with the PC since.

That seems fairly conclusive that the issue was with the PSU. Hopefully this helps someone else one day.

Hey,

I'll preface this with I was a Sys/Network Admin for years but haven't quite come across an issue like this, hence I'm reaching out.

I have a reasonably new custom build (4/5 months old - specs below) that has been running great until 2 days ago. Essentially it randomly powers off within 30 minutes of use (sometimes even while its booting up). There is no BSOD. There are no logs indicating any issue other than unexpected shutdown. It occurs if it's idle or if it's running a stress-test (CPU Temp ~70C). Other than it will definitely happen within 30 mins, I haven't found any consistent pattern.

What confuses me (but also causes me to wonder if it's a PSU issue) is that in order to power it back on, I need to remove the power plug for at least 60 seconds, hit the power button a few times, plug it back in - then it will power on. I have also tested multiple locations (work & home) in case it was dirty power or something.

I've managed to get Windows fully updated, latest MSI/AMD drivers, BIOS is fully updated and the issue still continues. 

Specs

• Windows 10 64bit (fully updated)
  • AMD Ryzen 7 3800X
  • Corsair Vengeance LPX Ryzen 16GB (2x8GB), PC4-25600 (3200MHz) DDR4
  • MSI MPG X570-A Pro
  • Samsung 860 EVO 1TB M.2 SATA SSD
  • MSI Radeon RS 5700 XT MECH OC, 8GB
  • Cooler Master MWE Gold 650W
  • Cooler Master MasterLiquid ML240R

5 minutes ago, Mr Sparkle said:

Hey,

I'll preface this with I was a Sys/Network Admin for years but haven't quite come across an issue like this, hence I'm reaching out.