*help* Print Server on the cheap cheap ;)

Naterr

Got a friend who owns a small business and have several (5+) printers that each user (10+) could use the access to each printer.

Instead of installing each printer on each machine by way of IP address, I've been looking a central PC (server-ish) that I install all the printers on, and share each one. Noting the PC name and printer names.

That way doesn't sound like a "better" way rather installing each printer individually.

What benefit is that way, rather than purchasing a Windows server license, or installing a CUPS - or other open source server software?

What I mean by benefit, is that I'm already upgrading all of their data and phone networks, and don't want to impose a $2K+ server build.

Also, there are several label printers that are USB only. What would you recommend on getting them on the network? TP link, I know, makes a "print server" that can add those to the network.

"Soli Deo Gloria"

IT Technician by trade. Computer/Network equipment enthusiast!

Gaming PC: 

• AMD Ryzen 5 2600X (Stock Core Clock)
  • XFX RX 590 FATBOY 8 GB (Stock Core Clock)
  • Asus ROG Strix B450-F Motherboard
  • Crucial Ballistix 16 GB (2x8) kit 3200 Mhz RAM
  • 512 GB Intel 660p M.2 NVMe SSD (Boot & Current Games)
  • 3 TB Toshiba HDD @ 7,200 rpm (Data)
  • 2 TB Seagate HDD @ 7,200 rpm (Backup)
  • Corsair CX650M PSU
  • NZXT S340 Elite Case
  • 24" AOC C24G1 1500r Curved Gaming Monitor 144hz 1080p
  • Turtle Beach Stealth 450 Gaming Headset
  • Corsair K63 10-Keyless Mechanical Gaming Keyboard (Cherry MX)
  • Logitech G602 Wireless Gaming Mouse, Razor Death Adder
  • Win10 Home

PC Part Picker Link