First Gaming PC Build - Coming from a Mac

HarrisonC

So I am wanting to put together my first PC for as cheap as possible but still have decent parts that will not go out of date in the near future. I am coming from a Macbook Pro with a Quad-Core i7 which I am keeping but I want to be able to play games above 1 FPS. As I said this is my first build so I am not looking to do anything fancy but I want a beefy machine that can deal with FPS-killing games such as ArmA and DayZ.

Motherboard: Asus ROG Maximus VI Formula 

CPU: Intel i7 4770K

RAM: Corsair Vengeance 8GB 1600MHz 

Heat-sink: Stock but will change to H100i in future (some thoughts on whether this will be adequate in the beginning?)

SSD: Kingston ssdNow 300 120GB

HDD: WD Blue 1TB

GPU: EVGA 780 Superclocked ACX Edition

Power Supply: Corsair RM650

Case: Define R4 but I have found out this may be too small for such a large mobo so likely to go for 650D, ideas?

Total Cost: £1250/$2000 but room for movement

As I said this is my first build but want something that wont become outdated by future games (i.e. Tom Clancy's The Division which will probably be very GPU intensive)

Cheers

You can save some money and get a Core i5-4670k instead, realistically 4770K isn't going to produce any FPS gains over a 4670K

Stock cooler isn't going to give you any headroom to overclock. It may be noisy under load if that is something that concerns you.

Just FYI Kingston changed the NAND in their V300 and resulted in a much slower product than originally released. 

The motherboard is ATX format which is a standard so Define R4 is fine. Unless you like the motherboard for aesthetic purposes. I would recommend using the money from getting an i5 instead of an i7 and getting a less expensive Z87 motherboard to get that H100i instead.