PSU Fan issue

GreY2231

Hello and good day. I have a Cougar CMX 550w. The PSU starts up but the fan does not spin. When I test the fan with a 12v bench supply it spins up fine. Is this normal? I thought it would at least spin up at start and then slow down and adjust for load. Thanks in advance for any help.

5 minutes ago, GreY2231 said:

Hello and good day. I have a Cougar CMX 550w. The PSU starts up but the fan does not spin. When I test the fan with a 12v bench supply it spins up fine. Is this normal? I thought it would at least spin up at start and then slow down and adjust for load. Thanks in advance for any help.

PSU's also have fan curves. Usually they start out silent until they HAVE to start up to cool the unit. Should be totally fine, stress-testing yoru components requires more power obviously, which requires the PSU to pump out more watts, and it eventually reaches the point where the fan HAS to be turned on.

I am NOT a professional and a lot of the time what I'm saying is based on limited knowledge and experience. I'm going to be incorrect at times. 

Motherboard Tier List                   How many watts do I need?
Best B550 Motherboards             Best Intel Z490 Motherboards

PC Troubleshooting                      You don't need a big PSU

PSU Tier List                                Common pc building mistakes 
PC BUILD Guide! (POV)              How to Overclock your CPU 

5 minutes ago, GreY2231 said:

Fan might be going bad?  I don't see that the PSU has a zero RPM mode, at least not in any review I could find.

28 minutes ago, GreY2231 said: