Astro A40'S

Shd0w2

So I was looking at the astro a40 headset alone, not the mixamp, I am new to audio so use easy to understand words please ;_; . When I was looking at the headset, it said I need the external mixamp to enable 7.1 surround in it.

My questions:

Is there another way to enable the 7.1? 

Would I notice a difference from the original surround level thing?

What is the original sound level? 2.2? 5.1? I don't know. 

Lastly, is it even worth it?    (The headet and amp, tell me about both)

Diamond 5 in League :)

I would not recommend. They will sound okay but the mic isn't good. I would recommend something like DT 990, Fiio E10, and a Blue Snowball.

Quote me to get a reply!

The Mixamp has dolby headphone technology that simulates virtual surround sound. Without it you'll just have stereo sound. I wouldn't get the A40's without the mixamp - the mixamp completes the package. It's primary function/use should be with console gaming or console/pc gaming. There are better alternatives for PC headsets (although I own A40's and love them, it's just everyone else seems to say they're not that great when compared to PC-only sets)

Astros are known for quite a bit of bass which in fps games can sometimes drown out other sounds, like footsteps. Although some people like it as it makes explosions a lot more fun.

Without the mixamp it'll be in stereo mode. Most pc games have options to select "Headphone" mode in the game options which will usually give good positional accuracy anyway so 7.1 or 5.1 is not really necessary.

I think you'll find most people would say that Astro headsets are like most "Gaming" Headsets pretty bad at audio in general.

Headphones such as the ATH-M50's or AD-700x, aswell as several other headphones are quite highly regarded as having fantastic audio fidelity at a cheap price ($100-$150)

New PC Build - Build Log - http://linustechtips.com/main/topic/276039-project-swift-force/

[spoiler=]

• Case: Phanteks Enthoo Primo