PS4 controller in PS3, stick drift issue. Need a definite answer.

Meiyer

*** Please only comment if you're good at electro-tech stuff and you know the answer for sure. ***

Hello.

I've got a PS3. The original controller it was shipped with passed away quite some time ago. I bought a new one, which turned out to be a fake junk. It's awful. After some time I figured the PS4 controller would also work with the PS3 system, therefore I bought one. It's a legit Sony DS4 controller. I plugged it in, using a simple micro USB cable and then I paired it up with my PS3. It worked. I started playing GTA and I was very happy, ...until it started having a strong drift on both analog sticks. I had only used the controller like 4-5 times in total, about 10 hours max. A few months later I bought a PS4 Slim. The controller it came with worked just fine but then I wanted to play PS3 again so I plugged the new DS4 controller in the PS3 again. After a few days of use (prob 10 hours in total) it developed a stick drift. So...now you probably know where I'm getting at: both controllers were connected to my PS3 at one point and both controllers developed a stick drift. Is there a correlation here or is it just sheer coincidence? Is it possible that the USB on the PS3 has a different voltage compared to the PS4 and that killed my PS4 controller?

Thanks you very much for reading!

A USB port can't break something plugged into it AFAIK, the plugged in device controls the power it's being given. It's definately not the PS3, probably just a bad controller

1 minute ago, Daniel Z. said:

A USB port can't break something plugged into it AFAIK, the plugged in device controls the power it's being given. It's definately not the PS3, probably just a bad controller