Poor InDesign & PDF Viewing Performance

Hi.

I'm a graphic designer by trade, and have noticed a significant drop in performance recently when working in InDesign files and viewing PDFs that contain numerous large graphics.
My PC is a Windows 10 machine with a 7700k (OC'd to 4.5ghz), 32GB DDR4 Ram, a GTX1080, a Samsung 970 Evo boot drive, Samsung 850 Pro drive for files and 850 Evo drive for cache.

I also use a 2014 i5 iMac when working from certain locations, and my Windows machine has always demolished this. However, recently the Windows machine's ability to cope with these files seems a lot closer to the iMacs.

I've monitored Task Manager and HWMonitor while working in these files and it doesn't seem like anything in the system is being overloaded or driven very hard, with the exception of a CPU utilisation spike to 96% on one thread while InDesign was attempting to load a page full of assets.

Is this simply poor multi-threaded support from Adobe or is there something I can do to improve performance in this area?

Help is greatly appreciated!

Annotation 2020-02-03 235210.jpg

Annotation 2020-02-03 235227.jpg

Graphic Designer & Video Editor, Professional Musician & Music Producer:

i7 7700k, GTX1080, 32GB DDR4 Ram, 970 Evo, 850 Pro, 850 Evo, 840 Evo

Macbook Pro 16 2.3ghz i9

I think thats pretty normal for all computers, doesnt matter what windows PC I use when I view a PDF with a large graphic my system bogs down until I have scrolled past it.

you can try affinity in cores to resolve stuttering viewing large pdf+s. or check hardware acceleration of nvidia graphics card updting your drivers.