Finally upgrading my Computer to the present

I am planning to upgrade my pc. This means that I only need:

• A CPU
  • A Motherboard
  • RAM
  • A GPU
  • A faster Boot SSD (I do have an SSD)
  • (A new PSU, my current one is 550W at 80+)

Use case: I'd like to be able to use this computer for a while professionally. I am a developer. I do play games sometimes, but I am also looking to get into AI sometime soon. 

I have quickly put something together: (I think the motherboard might be wrong and I don't know if I need a new PSU)

https://pcpartpicker.com/list/bBzXHB

I used to be able to pick a good system myself, but I didn't keep up with hardware too much the last year, so I figured to ask the experts. 

Thanks for your advice, much appreciated
Alex

Technically speaking you would be fine with a 550w PSU but for the sake of efficiency and to be on the safe side I would recommend upgrading. 

The EVGA G3 PSU's are known to be quite noisy and from my experience it can be the noisiest component in your system, especially at idle. I would recommend the RM series from Corsair which is quieter and comparable (if anyone has another suggestion let me know):  

https://pcpartpicker.com/product/79tQzy/corsair-rmx-2018-750w-80-gold-certified-fully-modular-atx-power-supply-cp-9020179-na

Your CPU / MoBo / RAM combo should work fine. I would get a 1 TB SSD since NAND is so cheap rn but you do have 2 M.2 slots. The GPU is also a solid choice.

NOTE: Motherboard should work with 3000 series out of the box but it is recommended that you upgrade to the latest bios

I would also highly recommend you get an after AM4 CPU cooler since the stock cooler is quite noisy. Let us know if you need recommendations.

PCPartPicker Part List

CPU: AMD Ryzen 9 3900X 3.8 GHz 12-Core Processor  ($558.89 @ Amazon) 
Motherboard: Asus TUF GAMING X570-PLUS ATX AM4 Motherboard  ($189.79 @ SuperBiiz) 
Memory: Crucial Ballistix Sport LT 32 GB (2 x 16 GB) DDR4-3200 Memory  ($154.99 @ Adorama)