Unraid vs NextCloud

leo

Hi,

I wanted to do a home server to ''de-google'' myself, since I have 60tb and ryzen 7 1700 laying around.

I was wondering what would be easier ( im not a pro in linux ) , better usage and addon wise, and security wise ; to install unraid then the Nextcloud addon or install directly nextcloud ?

thanks!

you can install nextcloud on almost any operating system so pick whatever you want. I find Nextcloud is not good with large files like movies and large binaries, so you might want a NAS system like freeNAS or unraid.

Just a note: i gaver har some problems with Nextcloud about playing videos, that it stutters/seems like it doesn't load fast enough to be played, tho transfering the video to the device now Nextcloud is fast and playing video directed from NAS (Unraid) is very fast, so I don't know. Images and stuff works fine tho.

“Remember to look up at the stars and not down at your feet. Try to make sense of what you see and wonder about what makes the universe exist. Be curious. And however difficult life may seem, there is always something you can do and succeed at. 
It matters that you don't just give up.”

-Stephen Hawking

11 hours ago, Struck said:

NextCloud is not an operating system, so it will have to be installed onto something. 

Can be windows, linux or as you say, unraid.

Was mostly speaking on linux vs unraid.

But seem easier to simply use Unraid.

do you know if it's possible to allocate only 1-2 HDD to nextcloud, and make it impossible for hacker to reach the others ?

They are two different things with different goals. Nextcloud provides a self hosted cloud alternative while unRAID provides easy network file shares. You can setup Nextcloud with a reverse proxy to access it anywhere easily whereas unRAID shares are local network only.

8 minutes ago, leo said:

do you know if it's possible to allocate only 1-2 HDD to nextcloud, and make it impossible for hacker to reach the others ?