Steamcache with FreeNAS, possible?

Kendiggity

So when it comes to networking im actually a noob. (ill admit it)
I have a freeNAS server set up 32GB of memory, 64TB of disk space.

I have a lot of lan parties at my home and I was wondering, can a steamcache be created inside of a FreeNAS server.
could someone help me out?

hi @Kendiggity

You can create a VM on FreeNAS install a Linux distro within it and make that a cache proxy. The server will also act as a DNS server for the host on the network. Maybe you can create it also within FreeNAS self but personally I do not use FreeNAS.

1 minute ago, Jarno. said:

You can create a VM on FreeNAS install a Linux distro within it and make that a cache proxy. The server will also act as a DNS server for the host on the network.

The Bhyve VM software on FreeNAS has a lot of overhead and I've had terrible luck getting anything Linux to install. I'm not sure that's a great route to go.

Would you happen to know if packages for a cache proxy exist for FreeBSD? He could put them in a Jail.

As @Jarno. said, create a VM. Steamcache is now called Lancache and only runs in Docker containers so your VM will be the Docker host. This is a nice guide to setting up the Docker containers: https://lurkingforgames.com/lancache

[Out-of-date] Want to learn how to make your own custom Windows 10 image?

Desktop: AMD R9 3900X | ASUS ROG Strix X570-F | Radeon RX 5700 XT | EVGA GTX 1080 SC | 32GB Trident Z Neo 3600MHz | 1TB 970 EVO | 256GB 840 EVO | 960GB Corsair Force LE | EVGA G2 850W | Phanteks P400S

Laptop: Intel M-5Y10c | Intel HD Graphics | 8GB RAM | 250GB Micron SSD | Asus UX305FA

Server 01: Intel Xeon D 1541 | ASRock Rack D1541D4I-2L2T | 32GB Hynix ECC DDR4 | 4x8TB Western Digital HDDs | 32TB Raw 16TB Usable

Server 02: Intel i7 7700K | Gigabye Z170N Gaming5 | 16GB Trident Z 3200MHz