Failed attempt at repairing a shorted graphics card

CastleCrusher

Ok so I'm not a professional when it comes to things like this but I digress. So I borrowed a heat gun from a friend of mine so I could remove a mosfet shorting out a cheap RX 580 I got. Unfortunately I didn't get the mosfet off on both high and low settings and it gets really hot so that's not the problem. While I'm considering giving up at this point, I think that even with my thin and seemingly unaffective foil shield, the inductors and a capacitor seem to have been tortured under the heat. Should I call it quits or are crooked inductors and lopsided capacitors a secret performance boosting mod? Again, I'm not a professional so some words of encouragement would be really nice right now. Anyways, thanks in advance.

IMG_20190912_190202.jpg

Yiiikes. Never use a heat gun on a single, small component without somehow protecting the surrounding components.

You can try removing it, but you may have damaged the card even more.

Quote me to see my reply!

SPECS:

CPU: Ryzen 7 3700X Motherboard: MSI B450-A Pro Max RAM: 32GB I forget GPU: MSI Vega 56 Storage: 256GB NVMe boot, 512GB Samsung 850 Pro, 1TB WD Blue SSD, 1TB WD Blue HDD PSU: Inwin P85 850w Case: Fractal Design Define C Cooling: Stock for CPU, be quiet! case fans, Morpheus Vega w/ be quiet! Pure Wings 2 for GPU Monitor: 3x Thinkvision P24Q on a Steelcase Eyesite triple monitor stand Mouse: Logitech MX Master 3 Keyboard: Focus FK-9000 (heavily modded) Mousepad: Aliexpress cat special Headphones:  Sennheiser HD598SE and Sony Linkbuds

🏳️‍🌈

3 minutes ago, kelvinhall05 said:

Yiiikes. Never use a heat gun on a single, small component without somehow protecting the surrounding components.

You can try removing it, but you may have damaged the card even more.

Well I used some aluminum foil and basically covered up the whole card but I think I set it too hot anyways.