Bad ssd or overheat issue?

Im new to ssd’s but i recently bought a kingspec m.2 nvme ssd and installed it. At first i cloned my hdd OS on to it and it worked fine but games wouldnt run because the system would just lock up every time i launch a game. After a few days i couldnt even boot the system because it was locking up before i could get to the desktop, i investigated and figured out that when i touched the ssd controller it burned my finger and when i turned off the system it cooled down. What should i do? Any tips??!

Thanks for reading.. any help would be appreciated

Which specific SSD did you get? (A link would be great. More specific than just a KingSpec NVMe drive.) And where'd you get it from?

Sounds like could be overheating if it's getting hot enough to burn you that quickly. Could be poor cooling, could be a flaw in the drive, could be poor design.

Specs: CPU - Intel i7 8700K @ 5GHz | GPU - Gigabyte GTX 970 G1 Gaming | Motherboard - ASUS Strix Z370-G WIFI AC | RAM - XPG Gammix DDR4-3000MHz 32GB (2x16GB) | Main Drive - Samsung 850 Evo 500GB M.2 | Other Drives - 7TB/3 Drives | CPU Cooler - Corsair H100i Pro | Case - Fractal Design Define C Mini TG | Power Supply - EVGA G3 850W

Just now, TheKDub said:

Sounds like it's overheating if it's getting hot enough to burn you.

Not necessarily.  The human skin has a very small tolerance for temperature.  You can't put your hand on something that's over 40°C (104°F) without feeling like it's burning. 

50+ °C (122+ °F) is very normal for an NVMe drive, so it stands to reason that it feels like burning your finger even when it's at its normal temperature. 

That being said, I don't rule out the option of overheating.  however for that to happen during boot already there has to be a serious problem.

1 hour ago, TheKDub said:

Which specific SSD did you get? (A link would be great. More specific than just a KingSpec NVMe drive.) And where'd you get it from?