Is undervolting worth it in my case?

IAmAndre

Hey,

So I bought a Vega 56 last month and haven't done any tweaking on it yet. Actually I haven't been able to use it for a long because my motherboard died soon after so I ordered a replacement. However I've been able to run a few benchmarks and I'm wondering if I should consider undervolting/overclocking it.

I only have a 400W power supply (BeQuiet! Pure Power) so I don't have a lot of power headroom. I've never really overclocked anything in my life. I've already spent quite a few hours just to understand how undervolting works and I still don't know, but I do know that the procedure will take a lot of time and trial and error - even more for me considering that I'm new to this.

I've been using the GPU with the second BIOS, the more power-efficient one, and with the Balanced profile. Based on this review, the difference in performance between both BIOS versions are quite marginal:

The default setting of 210 W can be lowered to just 150 W if so desired. We ran benchmarks with both settings and were able to discover that the GPU was not much slower when running with the 150 W BIOS than the 210 W BIOS. Thus, it can make sense to enable the more power-efficient BIOS permanently. It will not only reduce the power consumption but also noise emissions. While the fan remained very audible with the 150 W BIOS, it was significantly quieter than before.