Audio input issues causing GoPro to Freeze

I've been using my GoPro Hero 2 cameras for a few years to capture in car video during stage rally events.  One of the features of the video capture is I plug the mic jack of the camera into a car intercom to capture audio between the driver and co driver.  I move the system between different vehicles since I codrive for different people, but therefore have little control over the intercom itself.  Sometimes I find that when the car is started while the GoPro is plugged into the intercom it'll cause the GoPro to lock up and I need to pull the battery to get it to work again.  The GoPro uses battery power, but the intercom is connected to the car's power system in different ways depending on the car.  I'm assuming I'm getting some sort of voltage coming up the 3.5mm plug causing the GoPro to freak out.  Is there anything I can do with the camera or put inline between the camera and the intercom that could help prevent this?  It's never fun to get to the end of a stage and realize you've missed something exciting.  

Sample For Attention

Another because theyre fun!

7 hours ago, timdine said: