help a newbie in coding in C++

migeo

So I just started programming. I wanted to do a small program that will convert a decimal number to a binary. Unfortunately, I seem to have hit a pickle and I can't seem to resolve the issue. Here is my code:

#include <iostream>
#include <math.h>

using namespace std;

int main ()
{
	int a;
	int b;
	unsigned int n=0;
	int c=0;
	float d=0;

cout << "Enter number to be converted to binary: ";
	cin >> a;
	d=(log2(a));
	//cin >> b;

//while (a-(2^n))>=0;
	//{
	//n = n+1;
	//}

if ((d%1.0) == 0)
	{
			c = pow(10,d);
	}
	else
	{	
		while ((a/2) > 0)
		{

if ((a%2) == 0)
			{	
				//cout << a;
				a = a/2;
				c = c + 0 * pow(10,n);
				n = n + 1;
			}
			else
			{
				a = a/2;
				c = c +1 * pow(10,n);
				n = n + 1;
			}
		}
	}

cout << c;

return 0;
}

When I compiled it, I had this error message and I don't know what to do. Thank you very much!

Untitled.png

The remainder operator only works on integer types, for similar functionality for floats/doubles you need to use fmod.

3 hours ago, fizzlesticks said:

The remainder operator only works on integer types, for similar functionality for floats/doubles you need to use fmod.

Thank you very much dear sir. it's too late for me to code here so I'll try it tomorrow.

Computers already store numbers in binary, it's not like we use decimal computers these days, and you can use bit manipulation directly to get the results you're looking for.

Read about binary operators in C/C++ here : https://www.tutorialspoint.com/cprogramming/c_bitwise_operators.htm

Anyway, the program could look something like this :

int d,i,b[32];
int main()
{
  cin>>d; 
  while(d){
	b[i++]=d&1;
	d>>=1;
  }
  for(i--;i>=0;--i)
  cout<<b[i];
}

Let's consider a variable x.

If you apply the binary operator AND, &, with a 1, more exactly if you do x&1, this will give you the last bit in the binary representation of x.