First time gaming monitor buyer

Armetron

Hello,

So I've finally bit the bullet and decided to get a new monitor for my rig since I've been using the same monitor for about 7 years now. I've done some research and the must have features I want is 144hz min, 1440p, IPS panel, and some form of variable refresh rate. I currently use a GTX 1080 TI but now that Nvidia is allowing the use of Freesync I'm considering a FreeSync monitor.

The monitor that I'm currently debating is the AORUS AD27QD Gaming Monitor made by Gigabyte. It's a 2019 model, full of features that I like (RGB, Custom hardware crosshair, being able to change all the monitor settings within windows), and a few that I dont care about (noise cancelation, black equalizer)

Currently it costs around $600. My question is are there any "better" choices out there? Is this a "good" purchase? I'm looking for opinions and experience from current users

I have bought many gaming monitors over the years and recommended plenty for my family as well. When looking for a monitor, one of the most important things to consider is that those bells and whistles, like RGB and other nice features, do not really matter, and you should focus entirely on the quality of the panel of the display. There are plenty of cheaper options to implement some bling into your setup, and when it comes to getting a monitor the thing that you will be interacting with every time you use it is the panel. Realistically, you will also not use the sub-menus for the monitor all that much once you find the settings that you like. I would look for the monitor with the best panel for the best price.