New PSU - Any advices?

SimoNewPC

Hello guys,

6 month ago I have updated my pc with a new mainboard, new cpu, new ram and new ssd.

I decided to keep use the cpu's internal gpu for the moment and my old psu because of the short budget.

Now I would like to buy a gpu and a new psu.

Here is my hardware:

MB: Msi H87I AC

CPU: Intel i5-4440 3.10GHz

Ram: Corsair DDR3 Vengeance LP 16gb

SSD: Samsung 840 Evo

At the moment I am using a six years old Cooler Master Real Power M620 psu but it became noisy and I would like a 0db pc at least when I work with it.

My cpu is 0db yet (I have a noctua heatsink + a noctua low noise fan). The problem is only with the psu and the vga I am going to buy.

I would like some advices from you because I have some ideas but not much experience in this field.

The vga I would like to buy is the ASUS STRIX GTX 970, OC, 4096 MB, GDDR5, 256 bit (I would prefer the gtx 960 but I think it doesn't exist yet).

I've used some online psu calculator and it came out that I don't need much power (it sais 300w/350w but I don't know if that is reliable)

Do you think that a Corsair RM450 could be a right solution for me? Or should I buy a Corsair RM550? Or RM650? Or maybe you know some better and less expensive brands?

Remember that the low noise is fundamental for me.

Thank you all

You never said what your budget is. The best value/quality psu today is the EVGA G2 series. A 750W would more than meet your needs. At that size you would probably never hear the psu at all.

Sir William of Orange: Corsair 230T - Rebel Orange, 4690K, GA-97X SOC, 16gb Dom Plats 1866C9,  2 MX100 256gb, Seagate 2tb Desktop, EVGA Supernova 750-G2, Be Quiet! Dark Rock 3, DK 9008 keyboard, Pioneer BR drive. Yeah, on board graphics - deal with it!

Do you think that a Corsair RM450 could be a right solution for me? Or should I buy a Corsair RM550? Or RM650? Or maybe you know some better and less expensive brands?

Remember that the low noise is fundamental for me.