Asus prime h310m-a bios booting help!

I have the Asus prime h310m-a motherboard and I just built my pc. I’m taken to bios when I load up pc and am trying to boot from thumb drive . I have it in boot priority but it won’t boot , when I press f8 before bios load I’m taken to my thumbdrive and boot options but when hitting enter it takes me to bios. my hdds snow up in the main ez read mode of the bios but there in sata 3 and 4 . But don’t show for boot priority. They where used for a different motherboard and have the os and have files on them but I don’t care if I have to wipe them. I thought I could when I get windows going . I called Asus last night and the guy says my ram isn’t compatible and Thas why it won’t boot. but it is I have the Corsair vengeance lpx 1x8 CMK8GX4M1A2400C14R , please help this is my first build and all the cables with my older psu and case where hard to install And last night sucked not being able to boot.just wanna have this work!

My first thought would be the thumb drive is not setup for UEFI correctly. You could try disabling secure boot and possibly switch to legacy boot mode instead of UEFI to at least verify the drive is bootable.

23 minutes ago, lantin said:

My first thought would be the thumb drive is not setup for UEFI correctly. You could try disabling secure boot and possibly switch to legacy boot mode instead of UEFI to at least verify the drive is bootable.

I know it’s bootable for other computers but older motherboards is what I’ve tried it on . But I will try this when I’m home . Are the hard drives fine being in sata 3 and 4 ? They’re not showing to be able to boot from them

Should work in any slot yes. Sometimes there is a faster port but should be bootable from any. If the drive works on other systems I would definitely try legacy boot mode.

22 minutes ago, lantin said: