magnetic side panel

zackie

Hi guys! i have some question hope you can help me. i'm planning to put acrylic side panel into my case. and i will not drill my case instead i'm using 4 8mm neodymium magnets. i will put it in 4 corners of the acrylic. but my friend told me that it will damage my hard drive. i'm no expert and this is the first time i'm doing it. so it is possible to damage my hard drive if i use 8mm neodymium magnets? 

magnet's and hard drives don't mix well. Ever wonder why you never see magnets on a case's design.

HDD's use magnets to Read and Write, see the confliction? 

6 minutes ago, tekgeek1205 said:

-snip- 

That's not exactly true, plenty of cases use magnets. They have them on air filters, primarily, among other uses. Personally, I don't think exterior mounted magnets would be an issue, so long as the HDD isn't butted right up against it.

The Louvre

Lian-Li PC-O11 DW   |   ZOTAC RTX 2080   |   Core i5 9600k   |   SeaSonic FOCUS Plus 650W Platinum   |   MSI MPG Z390 Gaming Pro Carbon  |  2x16Gb TRIDENT Z ROYAL  |   2xSX8200 240Gb NVME SSD's  |   1x Seagate Firecuda 1TB   |   EVGA Closed Loop Cooler 280mm   |   1x MSI MPG27C Monitor

You'll probably be fine but I'd get smaller magnets as 4 8mm ones will be very overkill for a sheet of acrylic (btw have you worked with it before? It's the worst....) 

Very weak magnets such as that of your screw drive, or ones used to hold on dust filters are fine. Just don't go putting it directly on top or something.

I don't know the strength of the magnets you plan to use, but to ensure no damage then don't use them. If you do plan to use them anyway, keep them far away from where your HDDs are stored in your case if possible.

just buy the magnets an try it. it will only damage data not the drive. just back up before you do it. If you have problems, get the drill out.