Web Development Basics Question?

cpuxtech

Ok so I have been learning Java for Android Development but have recently been interested in Web Development as it seems like an extremely thriving area with applicable uses.

I have gathered some resources on the main web dev languages, but many examples show horrible aesthetics with crappy designs...

For instance, a login box will often look like this: post-6936-0-02464600-1385436764.jpg

So this may be functional , but is extremely unappealing and I just want to make sure that if I want to learn web dev stuff, I am not going to have useless knowledge.  Like for instance, how does Google get ahold of this : post-6936-0-44877100-1385436831.jpg

Obviously that is much better looking, but is this through the work of custom themes and presets/layouts, or will an understanding of web development languages give you the ability to make something as beautiful as a Google product?

Thanks!

i don't know much about web dev i just started learning my self but i think i may be able to help.

What you are showing there is just some code in a html doc if you want to make things like Google does you will need to learn css. For instance:

say i wanted to make text blue in a paragraph through css.

<html><head> <link href="style.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css"></head><body><p id="paragraph">This is text</p></body></html>

Then the css would look like to make the text blue:

#paragraph{     color: blue;}

If you really want to learn web design watch "thenewboston" on youtube his web design tutorials are great thats where im learning.

I know i didnt show how google does that but i hope in answered your question if you need more help just ask :)

and if i got anything wrong feel free to correct me :)

CPU: i7 4770k@4.3Ghz GPU: GTX 780ti Motherboard: ROG maximus vi formula PSU: Evga supernova 1000w Platinum