Interesting RAID testing results

Preface: I am not a pro, just showing what I found.

So I obtained a Dell R610, dual Intel Xeon L5520, put in 47GB DDR3 1600 RAM (yes I know it's a 1066 MHz FSB, this ram actually had a lower CAS than the 1066 kit somehow and was the same price), put in six Seagate Savvio 10K.6 ST300MM0026 300GB 2.5" SAS 6Gb/s 10KRPM drives LINK, installed a PERC H700, got an iDRAC 6 card, Windows Server 2012 R2 standard and some CALs and fired 'er up. Keep in mind this is my first server rodeo, so far I think I'm doing pretty good. I did a lot of research on RAID configurations and decided I think I want to go with a RAID 10 array due to most of my workload being reads and the writes will mostly be random, but I wanted to be sure. So I first configured a single full size RAID 6 array, did a full initialize, did a fresh install of the OS and BAM here are the results, sorry this is a pic from my phone, I was on the KVM console and didn't have time to play around with snipping tool/ email etc.: (ignore the 15KRPM note, I for some reason thought they were 15K drives doing these tests lolol)

IMG_20161225_190031.jpg

Not too shabby right? Well I then rebooted the server, fired up the RAID card deleted the VD, created a full size RAID 10 array, did a full initialize, installed the OS and here are the results from that test: (this one I did through the iDRAC so I could use snipping tool haha):

Test 2.PNG

So here's what's troubling.. All seq. work, reads and writes, are slower on RAID 10, at a queue depth of 32 they are dramatically slower, at a 0 queue they are only a tad slower. 4k reads are, sure, twice as fast but onlt 2.4MB/s? 4K writes are indeed faster by an almost factor of 4, but the 4KQD32 results are atrocious, reads a full 1MB/s slower than a RAID 6? The only result I am happy about are the 4kQD32 writes, 23MB/s is pretty fast, relatively speaking.