NAS or Small Server?

Sweppi

Hey guys,

I'm thinking about either getting a NAS or a Server but I can really decide what to go with.

I'm a web developer and iOS programmer. I'll be using the product to share project files (PSDs, Programming projects etc) between my Mac and my PC.

I'll also be using it for keeping client data like invoices, agreements etc. With the possibility for expansion for video files etc.

But I'm not sure whether I should go with a Server or a NAS. So I was hoping I could get some input and product recommendations from you :)

I've been looking at the Dell PowerEdge T20 Mini Tower with an Intel Xeon processor which I would get at a pretty good discount here in Sweden.

5 minutes ago, Sweppi said:

I've been looking at the Dell PowerEdge T20 Mini Tower with an Intel Xeon processor which I would get at a pretty good discount here in Sweden.

What OS?

It looks like your just storing data, if so get s NAS. 

If you need something to run AD and other things like that, Id get that dell server, then probably have a nas/san for data storage.

3 minutes ago, Pyrotechnika said:

However talking between two Operating Systems can be complicated. 

No its not. 

ISCSI, NFS, CIFS all work between OSX, Linux and windows just fine.

11 minutes ago, Electronics Wizardy said:

What OS?

It looks like your just storing data, if so get s NAS. 

If you need something to run AD and other things like that, Id get that dell server, then probably have a nas/san for data storage.

Well I get Windows Server for free via Dreamspark and Windows Server is what I'm most experienced with,

So any recommendations on hardware? What NAS or Server to go for :)

I just turned my old pc into a server, that might be an option for you. See specs in signature.