Asus X-99A 3.1 error code bF code fix/support thread!

z97

Okay so I recently had an issue with this code... and I'm sure most the people that have/had this code find it nearly impossible to find anything on the web that actually works. This thread is to hopefully help you out. (This is my first time doing something like that so correct me if I am wrong!)

What is the code and what does it mean?
There is some form of issue with the memory that will cause the computer not to post or go into bios. (In my case it was the bios)

Trouble shooting steps:
Check each individual ram on the slots of the mobo.
Pull the cmos battery for 10+ minutes and try replacing. (This will clear your bios settings so you may have luck here)
Bios flashback via a usb... please google this step if you do it..
Check your power connections
PULL YOUR BIOS CHIP OUT AND RESEAT IT (this may not work in some cases)

Common issues that I've read:
Bios will be in an infinite loop
Computer will not post
Everything works but no display

Possibilities that may be at hand:
Bios is corrupted
RAM is dying/not supported with the board
Memory controller died in your cpu
Mother board is bricked.

If you are not able to fix the following with the cmos trick or the bios chip PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE just RMA the board before you spend tons of money throwing parts at it unless you have the ability to use a test bench with working components!!!!

Now here's what actually worked for me:
Luckily I had a second motherboard (same model... I bent some pins.. shame on me) and I swapped the bios chips out. Powered it and luckily mine went into bios and then booted.

Please if you do find something that works, please feel free to post it here. I can not tell you how many countless hours I spent trying to correct this issue.

Thank you for the time.