How the internet routers work?

Carlos1010

So ive seen words like  802.11ac or WLAN but what does this all mean? I'm kinda new at the internet thing and how to read it? So how do you read internet routers aside from the download speeds? Please help me because im a noob and want to be a pro. Anything helps, thanks in advanced!

I'm part of the "Help a noob foundation" 

802.11ac is a wireless networking standard defined by IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers). It's essentially high-bandwidth wireless on a WLAN (Wireless Local Area Network) using the 5GHz band. 

Its single-link throughput is 500Mbps minimum (theoretically. Real world speeds vary). You'll see other things like 802.11n, which is another wireless standard defined by IEEE. Typically, a router will be named with the best wireless standard it provides. 

To be clear, the potential throughput on a router has no real impact on your download speeds, unless your connection from your ISP provides more bandwidth than your router can. If you have a 20Mbps internet connection and a router that is capable of 500Mbps wireless throughput, you're still going to be limited to 20Mbps if you're downloading from the internet. High bandwidth wireless normally comes in handy for local area network transfers, where data is not going to an external network, so is not limited by your internet connection speeds. 

Explaining how routers work would take a very long time, as there's so many things to consider. Modern routers are typically a combination of devices and services, such as DHCP (Dynamic Host Configuration Protocol), Firewall, QoS and so on, rather than performing purely routing functions. 

I would suggest watching/reading some basic networking tutorials if you want to understand things a bit better. There's an awful lot of acronyms to remember for networking stuff, so it can take some repetition to get it to sink in. 

Watch through this. It's generally well explained and easy to understand