Port Forwarding Help

Tmt97

Ok, so I was trying to setup a minecraft server on my computer, and I went to setup port forwarding in my router. Everything looked fine, I was able to change the setting just fine. I saved the changes and went to test it with this tool: http://www.yougetsignal.com/tools/open-ports/ It claims the port is closed. No one can connect to it either. I'm really confused and not really experienced enough with this sort of thing to know what I'm doing wrong, so I could really use some help. The router is a D-Link DIR-890L if that helps at all. Thanks in advance!

Don't do drugs. Do hugs!

I've never used the D-Link DIR-890L before, would it be possible for you to share some pictures of what you can see from your routers port forwarding page?

Connor Freebairn - ConnorFreebairn@newman.cumbria.sch.uk
IT Technician & Certified computer geek.

3 minutes ago, Redportal said:

I've never used the D-Link DIR-890L before, would it be possible for you to share some pictures of what you can see from your routers port forwarding page?

Sure

16h4znp.png

And if I click edit this is what I get:

bfp2zp.png

Don't do drugs. Do hugs!

Have you checked that the computer running the Minecraft server is in fact running on 192.168.0.149?

Also is the Minecraft server console displaying any kind of error? (Make sure it's running, can you connect to it over the local network)

*Extra Note: The port checker will most likely report the port as closed if nothing is running on it. (I.E If the Minecraft server is offline)

Not always the case, but I've had this a few times.

Can you post a pic of your server.properties file? Also are you making sure that you give your friends your public ip not internal

Just now, SCGazelle said:

Can you post a pic of your server.properties file? Also are you making sure that you give your friends your public ip not internal