Gentle-to-the-eyes monitor

Val.J

Hello to all :)

I do a lot of work on my pc (oddly enough..) but I don`t play any games. I want to find out what is the type of monitor that is most suited for long exposures and doesn`t hurt your eyes or give you headaches. I`m using two Acer V223W LCD monitors (at least 2-3 years old by now) and despite all the tweaking with the colors, brightness, contrast, focus, clock, surrounding lighting conditions and everything, I still get headaches and my eyes kinda hurt after sessions lasting 6-7 hours. I am a composer and I do most of my work starring at the screens for long periods of time.

I don`t care about color depth, viewing angles, refresh rates or any of that stuff. Is there a specific type of monitor that you can recommend that will be most 'gentle' to work on, or is my problem completely unrelated to the monitors to begin with?

Any thoughts on this will be greatly appreciated! Thank you in advance for any input on this!!!

Smaller monitors generally give you less eye strain. A good way I found to prevent strain is to keep room lights on as well, so the screen isn't so violently bright. I've also heard lots of good news about gaming glasses. I understand they work as a filter for the light. I'm probably completely wrong about how they work, however I know they do work. Check them out. http://shop.gunnars.com/featured-style/l/106

I've been looking at purchasing a pair of Gunnars glasses, even though I don't get headaches I do believe its good to protect my vision

Arch Linux on Samsung 840 EVO 120GB: Startup finished in 1.334s (kernel) + 224ms (userspace) = 1.559s | U mad windoze..?

@CaptainSi You`re absolutely right about keeping the room lights on. I also have a light behind the monitors that illuminates the wall behind them - so that`s taken care of. I`m researching the issue with the glasses as well, however, it`ll be even better if I buy monitors that are also suited for these requirements.