I need some help with my server on ubuntu

Hello everyone,

I am tinkering with ubuntu because i want a permanent minecraft server on an old pc of mine that was collecting dust in a dark corner of my room. So why not put it to good use.

So I'm a complete noob to ubuntu and since I have only used windows my entire life It's really hard for me to get into Linux distro's.

Right now i managed to setup a local server. So with my other gaming pc i can join the server on the 192.168.1.106 ip.

Now i'm looking into how I can join the server without being in my local network. On my windows pc I, like everyone else, use Hamachi. But ofcourse, that is not the case with linux. Since Hamachi is not avalible on linux I have to find another way to basically get other pc's in some sort of artificial LAN.

I researched some more on the internet and appearently there is another way to connect to a server that is not in your local area network, and that is by port forwarding.

Now, I've port forwarded the 25565 port (Default for minecraft) to my ubuntu machine. But I still can't seem to join the server.

I'm out of knowledge to get this to work. Maybe there's one of you out the who has maybe done this themselves or have some more experience with this kinda thing.

If anyone can help me with this dilema I would very much appreciate that.

Thank you for your time,

Jeroen

CPU:

Intel Core i5 2500k - Motherboard: Asus maximus iv gene-z - RAM: 2x Corsair Vengeance Blue 4GB DDR3-1600 CL9 - GPU: ASUS GTX 770 DirectCU II
Case: Coolermaster Centurion 5 II - Storage: Crucial M4 128GB, Seagate barracuda 3TB PSU: XFX 650W XXX Edition Modular PSU - Keyboard: Ducky Shine 2 Pro
Mouse: Razer Deathadder 2013 - Sound: Razer Characias

Are you trying to connect to your internal ip address(192.168.1.106) from an external source?

you have to connect to your external ip address, it should be found in your router, or google what's my ip address.

Will work for electronic components and parts