Sound card to external dac/amp

woox

A friend of mine suggested that I could get much better audio quality by connectiing a dac/amp combo to a sound card via digital connection (?). I am not very good with audio so I just wanted to make sure about the results before buying anything. Also what digital connection can I make between the dac and the sound card?

Thanks a lot!

A sound card is a dac/amp so connecting both together would be pointless. Just connect the external to your motherboard audio

Case-NZXT H440 | Motherboard-Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H | RAM-Kingston HyperX Blue 2x8GB 1600MHz | CPU-Intel 3770K @ 4.3GHz at 1.215v | Heatsink-Coolermaster Hyper212 Evo | GPU-EVGA GTX660 SC | SSD-MX200 250GB | HDD-Seagate Barracuda 3TB | PSU-EVGA GS650

Mouse-Logitech G600 | Keyboard-Ducky Shine 3 MX Blue. white backlight | Headphones-Audiotechnica ATH-M50s. Beyerdynamic DT990

A sound card is a dac/amp so connecting both together would be pointless. Just connect the external to your motherboard audio

I read somewhere that very few soundcards have amps... and the quality is supposed to be much better.

An external Dac/Amp is a better solution as it's isolated from the computer.

They will also tend to have better components as well, but don't go crazy!

I'm Batman!

Steam: Rukiri89 | uPlay: Rukiri89 | Origin: XxRukiriXx | Xbox LIVE: XxRUKIRIxX89 | PSN: Ericks1989 | Nintendo Network ID: Rukiri

Project Xenos: Motherboard: MSI Z170a M9 ACK | CPU: i7 6700k | Ram: G.Skil TridentZ 16GB 3000mhz | PSU: EVGA SuperNova 850w G2 | Case: Caselabs SMA8 | Cooling: Custom Loop | Still in progress 

I read somewhere that very few soundcards have amps... and the quality is supposed to be much better.

All sound cards have amps, that's how your headphones get powered. Connecting a soundcard to an external amp/dac is like connecting an engine to a car trailer. Bad analogy but its not needed.