PSU Wattage Help

slayerv29

Thinking of buying a Corsair CX 750W psu, I like its low price and 5 year warranty. I've gone through a few calculators thermaltake, newegg (which was terrible compared to the others), msi, and extreme and I've gotten 690W to 799W. Not sure what power supply to get? This is my first build and don't know a reliable calculator, I want a bronze lvl psu with a minimum 5 year warranty. Also I don't intend to buy the second graphics cards right away rather over a period of time I will along with the storage hard drive, will that matter?

My build:

Thermaltake lvl 10 GT

MSI Mpower Mobo

Intel 3770K (Gonna OC to 4.6 ghz)

16 (8x2) GB Corsair Vengeance

2x MSI 660 ti PE (gonna over volt not sure how much the maximum is for it)

dvd combo drive

120 gb SSD Corsair Neutron

1 TB Hard Drive (not ssd)

Corsair H100i

A ~750w unit would probably be your best bet with overclocking in mind, just make sure it's a high quality unit. As for adding the second card later on, running a power supply at lower loads will not have any negative impact on the performance, except for lower efficiency so you would be fine there.

Could easily use a 550-650W psu, possibly less, but i would suggest one of These. If your budget is lower, then one of These Would also be a good buy.

If you're adding another card it's better to get a power supply with enough wattage for both of them right away rather than upgrading your PSU when you buy the second card. For two overclocked 660 ti's I would recommend a minimum of a good 80 plus gold 650W PSU but I reckon that just to be on the safe side you should probably get a 750W PSU

If you can, since you have a single gpu setup, you can get away with 550 watts. My advice is either a decent (bronze) 750 or Platinum 550.